God Bless George W. Bush --Written on: Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004 ~~ 11:06

I said in the last entry that it was my plan to write a Republican-based entry and come up with a banner to match it to run very quickly before my Gold membership expires. As I sat here, I found myself to be uninspired. What do I need to say? Bush is back ahead in the polls, which is as it should be, and if the election were held today, Bush would be re-elected (according to msn.com which was something I read yesterday, actually, to be perfectly accurate). Now, I realize there's still about 6 weeks left and nothing is by any means final, but for now, I'm happy. I've heard that John Kerry's campaign is crumbling underneath him, what with the poor showing he made by speaking at midnight on the night of Bush's RNC speech and the whole false document thing with CBS and of course the flip-flopping issue, and his 4-year plan to stay in Iraq (being longer than Bush's plan, by the way) which he changed his mind about the very next day saying it wasn't worth the expense. Perhaps he would leave the servicemen over there for the next 4 years, just not spending any money to support and equip them or to keep them safe. That sounds to be about his style.

When my brother and I nearly got into a political debate with my grandfather when we were all in NC, Grandpa asked, "What has Bush done?" Grandpa is obviously on the other side. Well, for starters, how many terrorist attacks where there during the Clinton years? Real terrorist attacks, either on U.S. soil or at an embassy or in some way directly aimed at killing Americans in a random sort of event... Foreign AND domestic... Let's see, there was the first bombing of the WTC, Oklahoma City (domestic attackers, I know, with a possible link to Iraq), wasn't the Waco thing also in that timespan(? - if not, sorry), the bombings of the US embassies in Africa and the USS Cole. That's just what I can come up with off the top of my head without looking it up. How many have there been since 9/11? ...(crickets)...

Well, being fair, I'll give you the DC sniper.

Now, there have been deaths related to the War on Terror, but these were mainly servicemen whose job it was to put their lives on the line. The beheadings... Well, even if that was legit, what citizen in his right mind would go to Iraq to work and stay there after being warned at great length that with was unsafe and he should leave? I'm not at all saying that he was asking for it, but I am saying that he made a conscious, informed decision to put himself in harm's way.

So what did Bush do? Well, he only let it happen once "on his watch." He didn't stand by and allow such a thing to be possible a second time. Say what you will, but truly, what good is health care reform, social security benefits and other domestic issues when it is unsafe to leave our homes? What does all that matter if our life expectancy in this country gets cut in half with the leading cause of death being acts of terrorism? I'm quite sure that had 9/11 never happened, then all of these domestic issue gripes would be very arguable, right now, I'm more concerned with surviving.

So I went from being uninspired to quite vocal. How did this happen? Well, I went and submitted my mundane banner just to spend the last of them before my paid account runs out and the first thing I saw coming out was a banner from some silly liberal, so here I am and that's my 2 cents.

*

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font