The Sucker of Life --Written on: Monday, Apr. 05, 2004 ~~ 11:10

I heard something interesting today that I wanted to share, if only to remind myself later when it is applicable to me. Apparently there was a recent study done that shows that children who watch a considerable amount of television in early childhood are more likely to develop ADD and ADHD. I guess it makes sense. According to the study, children under age 2 should NEVER watch any television. After age two it should be limited to about 2 1/2 hours per day. Also, the study recommends never to put a TV or computer in the child's bedroom before high-school age. However, the study did not make any concessions between "good TV" which I'm assuming includes shows like Sesame Street and "bad TV" which I'm guessing would be sitcoms and dramas that are aimed at older crowds or other such mindless shows that don't really do anything but suck hours out of your life.

I guess I can see that... Children under 2 need to be playing with blocks and looking a picture books and finger painting and whatnot to build motor skills and sensory perception. There's plenty of time to watch TV later in life. The study also found that in boys, at least, such habitual TV watching can lead to aggression and anti-authority behavior. This is all fine with me. I'm about to throw the damn TV off the roof anyway. I almost never get a sense of any satisfaction after sitting down and watching TV these days. TV makes me feel bored. I'd even go so far as to say that TV is giving ME some sort of ADD. I can't sit down and watch one show or movie all the way through anymore. Television is the sucker of life.

The study also said that there is no direct connection between TV watching, by itself and obesity in children, but reminds that it's common sense that a child who is planted for 5 hours in front of a television is more likely to gain weight and be unhealthy than a similar child who spent that time being active.

Au Revoir.

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font