Forget marriage, what about the rest of it? --Written on: Wednesday, Mar. 31, 2004 ~~ 11:21

A while ago, Nikki sent me an article getting further into this gay marriage issue. I've been thinking about it and I'm ready to comment, though I sincerely doubt now that my response will relate very much to the actual article itself now. I've just been pondering the whole issue a little more.

First, I really wonder why people are getting in such a twist over the idea of a Constitutional ammendment being suggested. It will never happen! Federal laws... Maybe. An ammendment... Never. Homosexuals keep saying things like "why is everyone feeling so threatened by our getting married?" and "What is everyone afraid of and upset about?" Well, they're upset because it IS happening. It IS happening and will continue to happen at some rate until definitive legislation is passed to block it from happening. That's why people who are against it are all fired up. The constitutional ammendment thing... It will NEVER happen. Stop screaming.

Something else I've been thinking about at great length is what this all really means and what it will, inevitably, lead to. I truly don't think that gay marriage, in and of itself, does anything very significant to disgracing or making a mockery of the institution of marriage. I can't remember what exactly I said before on this, so forgive me if I'm contradicting myself. If two human beings who are in love decide that they just NEED to have that legal document saying that they are bound to eachother until death or a good lawyer comes along, then so be it... regardless of sex. Here's what I just don't get. For as long as I've known anything about what it is to be gay was, it's always seemed to be good enough for all the gays I've known to just be "life partners," or whatever they chose to call it. They had whatever kind of ceremony and they wore their rings on their right hands and everyone recognized them as "husbands" to eachother and everything was right with the world. Why is this such an issue now. Is anyone really doing anything any differently? Except maybe kicking and screaming for medical insurance for their new, legally-recognized spouses? It really seems to me that this is the only thing that's changing--and it's something that should be so regardless of if a couple is gay or straight. One of my good friends at work has been pushing marriage with her fiance for at least as long as she's worked at BVL so that he can be eligible for her medical benefits. She's all for just going out and getting hitched, making it legal since he doesn't have any insurance of his own (they've been together for nearly 7 years now, so it's not nearly as bad as I'm sure I'm making it sound). However, they are Catholic and he wants the whole nine-yards for a wedding, blessed by God and whatnot. They've compromised and are getting married in a small, but still Catholic ceremony this December. But still... If common law marriage were recognized, then this dilemma wouldn't happen. Are homosexuals really dissatisfied with their situations, or just with lack of couple's rights that even straight, unmarried couples aren't allowed to have? Well anyway, I've kind of gone off on a tangent.

What I think, personally... and what I'm worried about is not that gay partners who get married will threaten marriage or cause any major upheavals in society. What worries me is what comes next? Do we have same-sex roommates who happen to not be lovers that go and get their own piece of paper that allows one to share the other's kick-ass medical benefits? They need not be labeled as "homosexuals" because the only ones who ever have to know that they got "married" is themselves and the insurance company. As far as I'm concerned, this all has more of a potential to make a mockery of what it is to be gay than what it is to be married. And what after that? Do we allow 3 or 4 people to be married together? Do we allow people to marry inanimate objects or animals or people who have died? Really, once the boundaries begin to blur, where does it end. Don't say it won't happen, because sooner or later it WILL come up. It will. It's inevitable. Now, I'm sure... I hope... that some of these more ridiculous scenarios will never become popular or ever be seriously considered, but eventually the line will be crossed again. What then?

And them what happens when you do have just the simple situation of straight people posing as gay who get married for the legal benefits while all the while going on with their straight, single lifestyle? Do we THEN void all homosexual marriages that have happened in the meantime because the system has been abused? That seems hardly fair... to give away something freely and later decide it's a bad idea and take it all away...

And where does God fit into all of this? Well, I think everyone's going to have to settle their own accounts with Him separately. Here's what I know about marriage: traditionally it is 2 things. First, it was/is a spiritual union blessed by God. Then later as societies rose it was also a legal union recognized by the political state. Regardless of whether God or the state recognizes it, nothing is going to change the way two people feel about eachother. Once upon a time that was good enough. Now, if you are at all believing in anything traditional, you'll never believe that a homosexual marriage will ever meet the first description of what marriage is. All it can ever be is a legal union. If you can tell me that that doesn't cheapen it a bit, I'm going to tell you that you're lying.

Au revoir.

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font