No good reason --Written on: Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004 ~~ 20:00

Recently, my brother made an analogy to Jeff's and my leaving the Carousel on bad terms in order to describe the end of his most recent relationship.

He wrote: Back when i was 16 i knew some peeps that quit a job on bad terms for no reason. I asked them "Why didnt you just give your two week notice??"

Their Explination:

"TJ we love this job, but we hate it also. We've seen too many people who HATE this job come back after quitting cuz they only remember how awesome it was, then as soon as they get back, realize why they hated it. We quit on bad terms so we could NEVER go back."

Well, whatever that has to do with the end of his relationship, I'm not sure but it's made me think a bit about the Carousel. ...quit a job on bad terms for no reason... No reason... I really, really don't think that's how it went. The rest is true. We did leave in a very bad way (No show on New Year's Eve--One of the very biggest nights), and it was so that we could never, ever entertain the notion of going back... And I do remember the things that were once fun about working there, but it could never be the same as it once was. Is it because I'm not 17 anymore? Maybe. Is it because I know better than to put up with some of the BS that I used to just think I had to tolerate? Is it because I don't think that a few hours of fun at work is worth being constantly belittled by one's "superiors?" Is it because I'd expect nothing less than being treated like an equal. Probably yes. I never wanted to ever be able to go back because it would never have ever been in the same arena as being the same as it once was in the very best of times. I was through with hoping that things could be good again.

There were plenty of good reasons to leave and, as I've pointed out, plenty of good reasons to stay gone. As it is now, I won't even patronize that place as a direct result of how I was treated as an employee. Sure, maybe we were 16-year-old nobodies when we first got there, and very likely we were very stupid as well. And sure, some of us maybe are still 20 and 30-something nobodies who still work there and want nothing better. If that what makes them happy, then that's great, and I wish them all the best. However, some of the rest of us moved on and have grown and know lots and lots of people who could send lots and lots of business their way. Will I? Not in a million years. Never. I will never refer anyone else to that place for work or for recreation (it's a dinner theater, by the way, for those who've never read previous entries that might mention it or that don't know me...). That's the price they pay for the way they are.

Obviously, I still have a lot of bitterness. There are members of management there, well one in particular, that, if I were that sort of person, I would still to this day wish horrible things upon. Some people just really, really have a lot of bad Karma coming their way, and if I didn't know better, I'd love to help it along. Then again, I don't do those types of things anymore, for the good or bad. I'd still love to be there when it happens on its own, though.

Clarence, you made me hate you buddy, to the depths of my being. You are in a very small and elite group.

So anyway, there were a lot of good reasons to leave. And quite honestly, I don't believe that it was entirely without notice. We let a lot leak out and quite a few people knew of our plans. We just didn't give formal notice and instead each wrote a very nasty, but professional, letter of resignation, which I'm sure found its way to the nearest trashcan in a big hurry. It was more for us, anyway.

*

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font