It's been too long, and there's an election coming up! --Written on: Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2004 ~~ 21:55

I'm tired of talking about the bees. I want to talk about politics--it's been so long, hehe.

I took a moment to stop back by the diarists that I was arguing with sometime near the end of last year. One moved; I found her new diary but was unimpressed. The other guy is still right where I "left" him. To be honest, with all of the election BS going around, I've become somewhat desensitized to the whole liberal point of view. Even more honestly, if I could find a nice, calm liberal with whom I could exchange intelligent viewpoints in something that resembled more a debate than an arguement, I'd be thrilled to death. Unfortunately, I think to put "nice, calm" and "liberal" together is to create an oxymoron. Too bad.

For example, in the republican diaryring there is a diaryland diary entitled "republicans." Sneaky, sneaky, sneaky, but all to predictable. Of course this isn't a "republican" diary but rather an anti-republican diary. Oh, for heaven's sake...

I was watching the rerun of the miniseries "The 60's" last weekend on Lifetime. I found myself as disturbed by the hippie protesters portrayed there as I am by the brainwashed masses of the present. I didn't live through Vietnam and I can't say anything about it from experience, but I can say this: because of Vietnam, the honor and glory that was once associated with serving in the military in the times of my grandparents and in previous generations to them... That honor and prestige is dead. It lives in small pockets, but the national feeling of strong and lasting pride is gone. It has no hope of returning until maybe, maybe the generation of my grandchildren when most of the baby-boomers are gone and no one is really left who lived in that era. "We're not against the soldiers! We're against the war!" What kind of BS is that?!? And how all-too-familiar does it sound even to those of us who weren't even a thought in the 60's? If we're still in Iraq, and I mean REALLY in Iraq in ten or so years... Occupying the country and trying like hell to control it... Losing thousands and thousands of soldiers... Then we'll see. We never made the kind of progress in Vietnam that we've made in Iraq after only just the first year. There is no comparison. Then again, if we're still in Iraq in 10 years, remember I said REALLY in occupation of Iraq, then very truly Bush can't be blamed for it anymore. He may have gotten us in, but it will be whatever bumbling idiot is picked to replace him that will have made things worse or failed to fix the problem.

Propaganda is a beautiful thing and liberals are f-ing Monet when it comes to painting it as truth. The truth, on the liberal side, isn't good enough so let's just improve it a bit to make things look the way we think they should. And of course, Americans will eat it up. People are Sheep. That republican diary, in that the first line reads something like, "The republicans are the party for the rich and the gullible, which are you?" Please... I think there's a bit of confusion going on there. Republicans can handle the REAL truth; we don't need to have it made pretty for us.

*

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font