Everything's coming up Roses and Daffodils! --Written on: Friday, Apr. 16, 2004 ~~ 11:20

I can't hardly beleive it... Today is kind of like Christmas! There are a grand total of THREE Sonic drive-ins in Ohio! To someone who just spent the past 40 or so days before Easter boycotting red meat and having to watch those damn Sonic ads on USA network or TNT or whatever it was, this is an amazing feat. Actually it's not the burgers that do it for me there... Where else am I going to get a cherry limeade? So excited, so excited, so excited!!!

Not only that, but I have a three day weekend beginning right... now! It seems they are doing some maintenance in the sterility suite at work this afternoon, so I'd have had to find other work anyway. I decided just to take the day off as a "mental-health day." I've been needing it for a few weeks now. Yay for that!!!

And speaking of Easter... Overall it was somewhat disappointing in terms of the "holiday" aspect. Not much going on... Met up with TJ and we went to visit our grandparents and our Dad. Perhaps my New Year's resolution should have been to spend more time with family. Anyway, all of that was nice enough; we played a bunch of euchre with Gramma and Grandpa and played with their little puppy. I then got to see Dad's newly remodeled kitchen where they are going for some kind of Italian bistro theme. It's very neat. Dad was actually on his very best behavior, it seems. He only called TJ "his little check-bouncer" once and he made a point to say that he didn't tell any childhood stories while we were there. It's not that reminiscing is bad. It's just that when that is ALL that we talk about, it gets really, really depressing. It's like there's nothing in the present worth mentioning. The only good times were in the past. The people that we are now are not good enough, so we have to go back to the times when we were daddy's little angels. You see what I mean...

Anyway, so he didn't do any of that. He also made reference to the thought that "the test of time is passing" for Jeff and I and our marriage and the fact that we've made it this far without anything bad happening again "says a lot." We've only been married a little more than a year. We were together for 3 before things went all weird the first time. We're going on 7 years total. Hmmm... Well, whatever... I'll take what I can get. This kind of leads me to believe that if we stick to our baby plan that by the time I'm ready to have some news, maybe my dad will actually be ready (enough) to be okay with it. At this point, I don't care so much whether or not he's going to accept Jeff. I've been living 2 separate lives ever since I was 10 years old. I'm good at it and I know by now how to keep them separate. All I care about is that he'll love his grandchildren and accept them. I have no room to compromise there. So anyway, maybe we're moving ever closer to that time.

All-in-all... Things are good today.

Au revoir.

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font