Must be getting old --Written on: Friday, Mar. 05, 2004 ~~ 10:47

As usual, I have about a thousand and one things I want to say and will probably only get about half of a coherent entry out of it all. First, work has been kicking my ass lately. This wonderful switch in responsibilities is about 200% more demanding than my previous job tasks were. I think it's my karma for being such a bum for the past 8 or so months. Before, my job was just sort of to be there in case anything happened that needed handling. Mostly, I along with Ian and/or Kelly were just sort of a safety net for the first shift crew so that they knew they wouldn't be called upon to work 12-16 or more hours, unexpectedly. Now, I actually have my very own tasks to complete, day after day after day and quite frankly, it's turning out to be more than what I can get done in 8 hours, or 9... I haven't stayed much longer than that so far. Mostly, I scramble around, busier than a one-legged man, well you know... and put off things like paperwork that aren't essential so that I can get home by midnight. I've got to come up with a better system. This thing with Kelly isn't helping much either. She's been very decidedly disgruntled ever since the big news that she didn't get the open position. She doesn't even try to put on a happy face anymore. I truly don't understand why people stick around in jobs that make them so obviously miserable. Okay, well I get it if they have children to support and things like that and I'm sure many people would say to me, "It's just not that easy..." Well, it's also not as hard as most people make it out to be, even in this democrat-originated, oh-so-unpleasant job market. I've recently heard of two different companies in the near area of BVL who are hiring microbiologists, plus there were two other biology-related adds in the Sunday classifieds a couple of weeks ago, entry/lower-mid level positions... Stuff that people like she or I would meet the qualifications for or be close enough, at least. It really is just another example of the general attitude in my department that the company itself is responsible for because they shower us with benefits and promotions (from advanced peon to a solid entry-level spot, I mean) within the first 6-18 months of employment. People expect that the good times will keep rolling, and they just can't, not this early, at least. Everyone is so worried with what they think they're NOT getting that no one appreciates what we ARE getting out of working there.

Moving on...

Jeff was diagnosed with asthma yesterday, so we enter the world of inhalers and chest x-rays and all of those exciting things. About 6 months ago he went to the doctor about what I was sure was going to turn out to be acid-reflux disease. Well, they decided that while his symptoms are similar, I guess it's not quite severe enough to be called acid-reflux. So they gave him some pills to tame the acid and things got better. He took the first month of the prescription and then was only supposed to take them as needed. Well, things got under control and so he never went back for a refill--it really only bothered him when he ate spicy foods that he probably should be avoiding anyway. Then a few weeks back (and off and on before that) he starts up with this God-awful cough and wheezing. No fever or any other symptoms, so I assumed it was an allergy thing. It turns out that it's related to the stomach problem. Acidic vapor from the stomach comes up at night and gets into the lungs, irritating them and eventually causing asthma. They say it's pretty common in such cases. I'm guessing that everything will be okay now, with the inhalers and medication 'n' such. He's going for a chest x-ray in the next couple of weeks.

Well, I'll end there for now. I've recently heard some interesting things about everyone's favorite Democratic presidential candidate that I wanted to talk about and also more about our parents and their reaction to future grandchildren. Oh, and maybe one or two things about Scribble Journal.

Au revoir.

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font