Nobody's making a monkey out of you! --Written on: Sunday, Oct. 05, 2003 ~~ 17:10

Today, I'm going to talk about evolution. I don't think I already have, and it's a smidge more interesting than me complaining about my headache.

So who can guess? Do I beleive in evolution or creation (or intelligent design, or whatever it is that they're calling it now?) I suppose that I just gave myself away, but I'm going to continue on for the heck of it. I am a scientist. I am currently Christian, but that wasn't always so, and even now I'm not fanatical. I just believe what I believe. I'm obviously pretty conservative, in spite of a few little hiccups to the left.

Yeah, so obviously... I'm for evolution.... Mainly. No I don't believe that the universe and life on this planet was just spontaneously set into motion by some random act of chaos. I don't see how that could happen. However, I don't believe that God would do something so obvious and deliberate as drop two fully-formed human beings out of the sky and say, "Go forth and reap havoc upon paradise." I believe in Creation through evolution.

I don't think that's such an unreasonable idea.

What I do think is kind of unreasonable is believing that dinosaurs never existed because they are not directly mentioned in the Bible. That's just silly. Something else I can't quite understand is that I'm pretty sure that every single Christian has spoken these words at one time or another: "God works in mysterious ways." Tell me now, what's so mysterious about throwing together two humans and *POOF!* ... Placing them on the surface of the Earth, and not only that but SPEAKING to them. Somehow, I tend to think that if things happened like that, even if it was a few million years ago, that there would be less ambiguity about religion in the world. Everyone would KNOW that there is a God, and not only that but humans would have known how to live a Christian life and wouldn't have had to live as those awful PAGANS (Wiccans, don't kill me... Remember, I used to be pagan!) for so many thousands of years before Christ was born. Anyway, to me, evolution sounds a heck of a lot more mysterious of a way for God to have created human beings, or all life for that matter.

One other thing I don't get is this: God created the whole universe, right? All the planets and all of the stars and all of the solar systems, right? He did not create all "days" on all planets in all solar systems to be 24 hours long. So why then do we assume that when God created the universe in 6 days and rested on the 7th that it means that He did it in 6 - 24 hour earth days? Why don't we allow for the possibility that a Biblical day could have been many and many of aeons long? Why is it impossible that we are STILL in the 7th day when God is resting? Okay, maybe that's a stretch with all that is said to have happen such as Noah's flood and the birth of Christ, but who knows? Maybe God was sitting back in His lazy-boy chair with His feet up when He was dictating the Commandments to Moses? Why not?

Awww, heck.... I don't know. All I know is that Creation can't be proved beyond what is written in the Bible. It is a belief; it is not a science. And anyway, human beings wrote the Bible. Yes, I understand they were writing the words of God, but none of us were there to make sure that they didn't play their own little part in the editorial process. Sure, they'd be going to Hell if they did, but what do humans know of Hell, anyway? Maybe they didn't know enough then to be scared of that. Or maybe God was wise enough to figure in that humans at the time when the bible was written didn't have the capacity to understand the full scope of evolution, so He left it out, for now. Perhaps He figured that one day we'd be smart enough to interpret the evidence he left and put the pieces together to understand the truth about how things happened. Funny how He seems to have overestimated us a bit. Instead, we're all killing eachother and calling eachother terrible, ticket-straight-to-hell-worthy names over words that were written thousands of years ago.

Don't you think that God had faith in US as humans that we would advance as a race?

Stay tuned...

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font