When it hits the fan... --Written on: 2003-06-09 ~~ 8:34 p.m.

I arrived to work today greeted by the information that my promotion had gone public (company news is displayed on monitors in the cafeteria). I suppose one good thing is that I've discovered two people here that can be trusted. They'd be the ones who came to me directly to tell me that there had been drama earlier today regarding the big news. That'd be as opposed to those who just didn't speak to me, but then they don't usually speak to me so they can maybe be grouped in with the rest who'd be classified as act as though nothing had happened. So the drama comes from the idea that usually these things happen in order of seniority. This time it didn't. Part of the reason that I didn't say anything to anyone here is because those two people who were meant to be ahead of me, I like a lot. I felt kind of bad. I'd almost go on having no one know, especially since the new title means basically nothing but that: a new title. I really, whole-heartedly believe that I came next for this because of working a different shift then the rest of them, and on this shift, I am the only one eligible for the position. Of course, you can't be reasonable here. Drama and gossip and backstabbing are like food and water and air. It's so silly sometimes. Now also, I sort of feel like I should work even harder since I already know that bitter eyes are beating down with disapproval that I shouldn't have been promoted. Of course, these are the eyes that don't matter for anything, really... Just daily sanity. The eyes that have the power and authority (i.e., management), I don't really sense any malice from them. I think I'm doing all right there. So that's all that matters, right?

Stay tuned...

Before And After

Would I get a discount if I birthed the baby in the store? - 5/16/05
The end is near? - 5/13/05
The progession of me - 5/10/05
Cleaning update - 5/7/05
Pre-nesting - 5/7/05

New * Old * Profile * Guestbook * 100 Things * Notes * Cast * Photos * Links * Reviews * Design * Font